03 / METABOLIC & WEIGHT RESEARCH — INVESTIGATIONAL
Retatrutide: Three Receptors, No Approval
The furthest along the receptor count and the least far along the regulatory path. Adding glucagon-receptor activation to GIP and GLP-1 produced the largest phase 2 weight reductions reported in this class — and a set of open safety questions that no completed trial has yet answered.
The short version
Retatrutide is an experimental drug. No regulator anywhere has approved it. Everything known about it comes from early- and mid-stage trials, and the large trials that would settle its long-term safety are still running.
What makes it notable is that it switches on three receptors at once instead of one or two. Two of them — GLP-1 and GIP — reduce appetite and help control blood sugar, the same job the approved drugs on this desk do. The third is different: the glucagon receptor. Glucagon raises the rate at which the body burns energy and mobilises stored fat.
So where the other incretin drugs work almost entirely by making people eat less, this one adds a second lever that increases energy output. In a mid-stage trial that combination produced the largest average weight reduction reported for any drug in this family.
It also raises resting heart rate in a dose-dependent way, and nobody yet knows what that means over years. This page reports what has been published. It publishes no doses, no protocols and no handling instructions.
What it is
Retatrutide, development code LY3437943, is a 39-amino-acid synthetic peptide built on a GIP-based backbone and acylated with a C20 fatty diacid for albumin binding and an extended half-life. Molecular formula C221H342N46O68 as the free acid. In the literature it also appears as the GGG tri-agonist — GIP, GLP-1, glucagon.
Its regulatory status is the single most important fact about it, and it is unambiguous: investigational. It is in phase 3 trials and has been approved by no regulator. There is no approved indication, no prescribing information, and no consumer or prescription product.
One practical consequence is worth stating for readers arriving from a search: retatrutide has no brand name. Its approved-drug neighbours on this desk each carry one — semaglutide is sold as Ozempic, Wegovy and Rybelsus, tirzepatide as Mounjaro and Zepbound, tesamorelin as Egrifta — because a brand name is something a manufacturer registers for an approved product. Retatrutide has only its generic name and the development code LY3437943. Any name presented as a retail brand for it is not one. Every efficacy and safety figure below comes from a clinical trial, not from approved labelling.
A gray market in research-labelled material exists outside that trial system. Nothing in the published evidence base applies to it: such products are unregulated, of unverified identity and purity, and outside any clinical oversight. This site does not publish sourcing, preparation or handling information of any kind.

How it works
Retatrutide is a single molecule agonising three receptors simultaneously. The GLP-1 and GIP arms do what they do in the dual and single agonists — suppress appetite and improve glucose-dependent insulin secretion. The glucagon arm is the addition, and it works in the opposite direction from the intuition most readers bring to it.
Glucagon is usually filed as the hormone that raises blood sugar, which sounds like the last thing a diabetes drug should be doing. In this context, controlled glucagon-receptor activation contributes increased energy expenditure and lipid mobilisation, and the incretin arms hold the glycaemic consequence in check. The combination is what drives larger weight loss than dual or single agonism has produced.
Structural work has resolved the three-receptor engagement directly. Cryo-electron-microscopy structures of retatrutide bound to GLP-1R, GIPR and GCGR were resolved at 2.68, 3.26 and 2.84 ångström respectively, and cAMP signalling assays established a strikingly uneven potency profile: roughly 8.9 times more potent than native GIP at the GIP receptor, but only 0.3 times and 0.4 times the potency of the endogenous hormones at the glucagon and GLP-1 receptors [13]. The same work found that extracellular loop 1 adopts a rigid alpha-helix in GLP-1R and GCGR but a flexible loop in GIPR — a structural asymmetry that maps onto the potency asymmetry.
That imbalance is the design, not a defect. A triple agonist with full glucagon potency would be a very different and considerably more dangerous molecule.
Mechanistic targets: glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor (GLP-1R), glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide receptor (GIPR), glucagon receptor (GCGR).
What the trials show
The evidence base is phase 1 and phase 2. It is genuinely striking and it is genuinely preliminary, and both of those need saying in the same breath.
Obesity, phase 2. A 48-week trial randomised 338 adults with obesity — 51.8% men, body-mass index 30 or above, or 27 to under 30 with a comorbidity. Mean body-weight change at 48 weeks in the highest study arm was -24.2%, against -2.1% on placebo. Gastrointestinal adverse events were dose-related and mostly mild to moderate, and a dose-dependent heart-rate increase was observed, peaking at 24 weeks [15].
Type 2 diabetes, phase 2. A 36-week trial in 281 adults with type 2 diabetes. The highest study arm lowered glycated haemoglobin by -2.02% at 24 weeks against -0.01% with placebo, and reduced body weight by -16.94% at 36 weeks against -3.00% with placebo. Mild-to-moderate gastrointestinal adverse events occurred in 35% of participants. No severe hypoglycaemia and no deaths were reported [16].
Liver fat. A 48-week phase 2 substudy in 98 participants with obesity or overweight and metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease — 10% or more liver fat by MRI-PDFF, without type 2 diabetes — reported relative liver-fat changes at 24 weeks of -42.9%, -57.0%, -81.4% and -82.4% across ascending study arms, against +0.3% on placebo. In the highest arm, 86% of participants reached normal liver fat, defined as under 5%, and the reduction was sustained to 48 weeks at -86.0% [14]. This is the most dramatic single result on this desk.
Synthesis. A 2025 review characterises the up-to-24% weight loss at the 12 mg study arm over 48 weeks as a step change against prior incretin therapies, and summarises the mechanism, the gastrointestinal and heart-rate safety profile, and the ongoing phase 3 programme [12].
What does not exist: any completed head-to-head trial against tirzepatide or semaglutide, any cardiovascular or kidney outcome result, and any long-term safety data at all.
What to watch: reported effects and cited cautions
The community material on this compound requires a heavier caveat than anything else on this desk, because unlike the approved drugs there is no supervised-use population to compare it against.
Community reports — anecdotal, not clinical evidence
What follows comes from research-use communities and peptide forums. It is anecdotal, not clinical evidence: these are unverified self-reports, with no confirmed doses, no clinical oversight, no verification of what was actually in the vial, and no way to audit any of it. Frequencies are described in words rather than numbers, because no counted denominator exists. It is included because it is the only account available of what unsupervised use looks like, and readers deserve to see it labelled rather than laundered.
Reported as beneficial. Near-total silencing of intrusive food thoughts is the most frequently described effect — reporters characterise it as disinterest in eating rather than active fullness. Weight reduction that reporters describe as qualitatively faster than their experience with other compounds in this class is also frequently described. A subset report a sensation of increased body warmth, running warmer or sweating more easily, which community discussion attributes to the glucagon arm and its thermogenic effect. Some describe a mood uplift or reduced anxiety around food.
Reported as adverse. Nausea in the hours after administration is among the most commonly described experiences, reported as most pronounced in the first weeks and after stepping up. Awareness of a faster resting pulse is a recurring theme, with some reporters citing wearable heart-rate data — this maps onto the dose-dependent heart-rate increase documented in trial data [15]. Sulfur-smelling burps, constipation, and a dip in energy in the early weeks are all commonly described. Difficulty falling or staying asleep is reported by a subset, with no established mechanism. Localised injection-site itching or redness resolving within a day or two is occasionally described. Some who track body composition report feeling 'soft' during rapid loss and worry about muscle, which mirrors a real research question rather than an imagined one.
Cited cautions from the clinical literature
- It is an unapproved investigational compound. Obtaining it outside a clinical trial means no verified identity, purity or sterility of the substance being injected. Independent analyses of comparable gray-market peptides have found truncated sequences, racemised amino acids, and entirely different compounds. Without sterility and endotoxin testing, injectable contamination risk includes sepsis. Regulators have issued warning letters to vendors selling it. The entire published evidence base [12][15] describes a supervised trial product, not gray-market material.
- Dose-dependent gastrointestinal adverse events. Nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea and constipation were dose-related, mostly mild to moderate, and the principal driver of discontinuation in the phase 2 obesity trial [15]; gastrointestinal events affected 35% of participants in the phase 2 diabetes trial [16]. They arise from GLP-1-mediated slowing of gastric emptying and altered motility. In unmonitored settings there is no escalation oversight, which plausibly raises the likelihood of severe events, dehydration and electrolyte disturbance.
- Dose-dependent increase in resting heart rate. The phase 2 obesity trial documented a dose-dependent heart-rate increase peaking around 24 weeks [15]. The glucagon-receptor component drives cardiac chronotropy through cAMP/PKA signalling. A dedicated cardiovascular outcomes trial is ongoing and has not reported; long-term effects on arrhythmia burden, major cardiovascular events and cardiac remodelling are unknown, and unknown specifically in the unmonitored populations using gray-market material.
- Hypoglycaemia risk alongside insulin or sulfonylureas. GLP-1 and GIP receptor agonism augments insulin secretion in a glucose-dependent manner. Where insulin is already elevated by exogenous insulin or a sulfonylurea, the combined effect can push blood glucose below safe thresholds. Participants on background insulin in the phase 2 diabetes trial required de-escalation of that insulin during the study, and under supervision no severe hypoglycaemia occurred [16]. Without monitoring, there is nothing to detect or correct it.
- Absolute reductions in lean mass. Body-composition work confirms reductions in lean body mass alongside fat mass. The fat-to-lean loss ratio has been more favourable than historic bariatric benchmarks, but the absolute lean loss in a rapid-loss context is clinically meaningful, particularly for older individuals or those already at sarcopenic risk. Dietary protein has been shown independently to defend lean mass during weight loss in this class.
- Long-term safety, durability and outcomes are unknown. The phase 3 series and the dedicated cardiovascular and kidney outcome trials are ongoing [12]; no long-term outcome data exist. Regain data from analogous agents in this class suggest substantial rebound after discontinuation, meaning open-ended unmonitored use carries uncharacterised metabolic risk.
What remains unknown
Almost everything that matters over a horizon longer than a year.
Cardiovascular outcomes. The heart-rate signal is documented [15]; its consequence is not. A drug that reduces weight by roughly a quarter should on that basis reduce cardiovascular risk, and a drug that persistently raises resting heart rate might not. Only the outcome trial resolves that, and it has not reported.
Kidney safety. A dedicated renal trial is running, which is itself the clearest statement that residual uncertainty exists at scale.
Durability off treatment. No published retatrutide discontinuation data exist. Every comparable agent in this class shows substantial regain after stopping, and there is no reason to expect this one to differ, but the expectation is inference rather than evidence.
How it compares to what is already approved. The phase 2 weight figure of -24.2% against placebo [15] is larger than tirzepatide's phase 3 figure of -20.9% against placebo [8] — but those are different trials, different populations, different durations and different designs. Cross-trial comparison of this kind is the most common analytical error made about this compound. No head-to-head trial exists.
Whether the liver-fat result translates into liver outcomes. An 86% relative reduction in liver fat with 86% of participants reaching normal liver fat [14] is a remarkable imaging result. Imaging endpoints are not histological or clinical ones, and the distance between them is where a great many promising liver drugs have failed.
Where it fits in metabolic research
Retatrutide is the field's test of whether the receptor-stacking strategy keeps paying. One arm produced semaglutide. Two arms produced tirzepatide, which beat one arm head to head [1]. Three arms produced, in phase 2, the largest weight figure yet reported [15] — but with a mechanism that is qualitatively new rather than merely additive, because the glucagon arm adds energy expenditure to what had been a pure intake story.
That is why its safety profile is not simply the incretin profile scaled up. The heart-rate signal is a glucagon signal. It has no counterpart in the single- and dual-agonist record, and it is the reason the cardiovascular outcome trial matters more here than it did for the approved drugs.
The liver-fat data [14] point at a second future for this compound entirely, and one that has nothing directly to do with the scale. On that axis it converges with an unlikely neighbour: tesamorelin, which reduces liver fat through the growth-hormone axis rather than the incretin one [17][19]. Two completely different mechanisms arriving at the same organ is the most interesting structural fact on this desk, and the comparison page takes it apart.